Sunday, April 19, 2009

Friday Night Lights & The Wire: The Best TV Shows You Are Not Watching

I thought I would write something quick to burn some time on this Sunday, 45 minutes away from the start of Game 3 of the Canucks vs the Blue (14 wins away from the Cup and I am already trying to figure out where I want to sit/stand during the Stanley Cup parade down Robson Street).

The TV season is wrapping up and the only series that still commands my attention and that is running is LOST (two more episodes left and still so many questions to be answered makes me wonder if they can truly wrap things up in one more season). With rerun season approaching, I have two shows that I highly recommend to those looking for something new. (Actually, looking at my previous paragraph, I would be remiss not to plug "The Office" and "30 Rock" if you are a fan of brilliant comedy.)

I sometimes want to adopt a smug "I-told=you-so" to many of my friends when I recommend a show that I say is good, but they don't listen to me until two years later. It has happened with LOST and Entourage (although that show sucks now). My wife finally is a believer in 30 Rock. And her favourite show now is Friday Night Lights, which she was also reluctant to start watching in the beginning.

After finishing another fabulous episode of "Friday Night Lights", the second last episode of the season, I almost got a bit angry thinking of the lack of accolades that should be heaped upon this show. I get angry thinking of the quality of acting and writing in this show that fails to draw even a tenth of the ratings seen in shows like "Big Loser" or "The Apprentice" or any other reality show for that matter.

I highly recommend if you want to try something new to watch this summer, do yourself a favour and rent season 1 of Friday Night Lights (FNL). Connie Briton and Kyle Chandlar represent a great depiction of what it means to be a couple in love and in marriage. The scenarios are sometimes a bit contrived, but not really that far removed from the realities that I see in high school. More than any show, there is an emotional connection to all of the character as we get to see them make mistakes, learn, and grow. A surefire sign of how good the show is? Some of the characters that you are first dislike are now not as one-sided as you thought and you actually like them even though they are imperfect.

Friday Night Lights has something for everyone.
Let's play the stereotypes: For the guys?
Improbable football victories? Check. Sweet slow motion plays? Check. Quite possibly one of the hottest female ensemble TV casts? Check.
For the ladies?
Relationships? Check. Emotional arcs that will leave you in tears? Check. Quite possibly one of the hottest male ensemble TV casts? Check.

Go directly to jail, do not pass go, do not collect $200. Go see Friday Night Lights, Season 1.

Season 2 was a bit of a travesty. Very uneven and some silly plots. You still need to see it though, so you can enjoy the payoff of this season, season 3. Season 3 brings it back. There are some episodes that make you feel like part of the family. There are not always happy endings in this show, but it is impossible not to get sucked into it.

Please give it a chance.

The other show I love is HBO's "The Wire". The content may not be for everyone, as it is graphic, violent, and unflinchingly looks at inner city Baltimore and its problems related with policing, drugs, and schools. I think the reason it did not get more popular was because if you watch it, it is makes you feel guilty, because you realize that these problems exist and we are almost helpless to make a change. I really think that watching this show will make you realize the problems in Vancouver surrounding all of the gang-related shootings will not change by simply throwing boatloads of cash and police at it. United States has already proven with their infinite resources in comparison to Canada's, that their little "War on Drugs" did little to stem the tide. "The Wire" shows how the war on drugs is intertwined on so many different levels. It shows that even when people want to do right, their quotas or budgets or other people's agendas will trump what should be done. Season 1 sets up the characters and the police work that they do to try to take down a gang. What is weird is that as a viewer you are shown both sides, the police and the gangs, and you get to see that neither group area a bunch of angels. You actually get to know the gangs as well as the police. Season 2, brings the action to the docks of Baltimore. Season 3, follows the gangs again. Season 4, which we just finished, looks at the school and political system. I heard Season 5 looks at the newspaper media.

I know the synopsis doesn't sound great, but the show is a challenging and engaging series. You really need to stick with the series, because it is a slow burn and it doesn't necessarily leap of the screen. The characters are realistic, they mean well, they make mistakes, and you can't help feel their pain or revel in their small victories. I certainly think that some people need to see how a life of crime and drugs is not something that should be sensationalized. The brutality, poverty and unfortunate settings that some of the characters are born into breaks your heart. Life is cruel and unfair to so many people. The Wire is an education, an education about the inequality that exists in all major metropolitan cities.

But from a pure entertainment standpoint, The Wire is one of the best TV shows ever. Humour is wrapped up into the details of the every day life of these gangsters and police officers. The joy comes from watching a show that is so well done. You will recognize many of these actors who obviously got their recognition and start from this series.

Do yourself a favour and watch a series that is challenging and pushes the medium of television beyond the blah blah blah of most of the network shows out there.

Go Canucks go!

2 comments:

  1. Great post, Robb. We are also loving The Wire - we are halfway through Season 4 right now. I also think a lot about Vancouver when I watch it - I was particularly fascinated by the "Hamsterdam" concept and how much it reminded me of parts of the DTES and of how much of the city outside the DTES views harm reduction. I think I like it the most because pretty much every character on that show is all shades of grey - even most of the "good guys" are morally questionable and you find yourself caring just a little bit about the guys you are supposed to hate (the most obvious for me is Omar, but also D'Angelo in season 1 and even Bodie a bit). Anyways, it just makes me think very much and question a lot of what I see and think being in the downtown core everyday.

    Now I guess I'll have to give Friday Night Lights a real try.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Lana: You are so right about caring about the guys you are supposed to hate. I mean, it is crazy to say, but Omar is almost more "effective" than the cops. The show is written so well that you can care about Bodie, Bubbles, and heck even Stringer Bell.

    Hamsterdam really draws parallels to DTES. Every time I drive through DTES I just don't know what I, as a citizen who supposedly "cares" should do. What a social problem for Vancouver, with no easy answers. I am interested to see what happens with the Olympics, because the Downtown Eastside sitting next to luscious beautiful Vancouver is not an image that our city wants to send to the rest of the world.

    And yes, get going on Friday Night Lights. When a show can be cheesy and predictable almost every step of the way, yet you STILL want to watch... that is a sign of a well-made show.

    ReplyDelete